Partisan Offices/Primary Elections

Primary elections are held for partisan offices, so that voters registered with the major parties can choose their party's representative to the general election. Candidates who do not belong to a major party qualify for the general election separately, by filing petitions with voter signatures. The following are Partisan offices:

  • President and Vice President of the US
  • Delegate to the House of Representatives
  • Mayor of the District of Columbia
  • Chairman of the DC Council
  • 4 At-Large Members of the DC Council
  • 8 Ward Members of the DC Council
  • 2 United States Senators
  • United States Representative

United States Senator and Representative

The offices of US Senator and US Representative were created by an Initiative approved by voters in 1980. These local offices have the same titles as the federal offices which will exist if the District becomes a state.

The concept of electing senators and representatives in an effort to achieve statehood originated in Tennessee in 1796; seven states have used this procedure in gaining admission to the union. Under DC law, the duties of the senators and representatives are to inform Congress that DC residents meet the traditional standards for achieving statehood; to monitor the progress of DC's petition to gain statehood; and to advise the District on matters regarding statehood.

The Senators and Representative are not paid with funds from the DC budget, but may raise funds from private sources to cover expenses.


Non partisan Offices

Candidates for Nonpartisan offices do not have their party affiliation listed on the ballot in the general election, and no primary elections are held to select party nominees for these offices. The Non partisan offices in the District of Columbia are listed below:

  • President of the Board of Education
  • 4 School District Members of the Board of Education
  • 296 Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners

Advisory Neighborhood Commissions

Commissioners serve two year terms and receive no salary. Each Commissioner represents approximately 2,000 residents in his or her Single Member District (SMD) area.

DC Board of Elections
441 4th Street, NW, Suite 250 North
Washington, DC 20001
Tel: (202) 727-2525 | TTY: (202) 639-8916 | Tollfree: 1-866-DC-VOTES
Don't see your Questions listed? Ask the Director now! Election Year 2014 Register to Vote Find your Polling Place Election Day Workers Interactive Maps Employment Opportunities
  • General Election: 11/4/2014
  • Primary Election: 4/1/2014

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Mobile Application